Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

Chew_Oatmeal_Coconut_Cookies_Recipe_Vegan_002

I’ve been wanting to make some healthy cookies recently. I was craving something sweet, but still on the healthy side.
I was browsing through Pinterest for some inspiration and ideas, and I found these delicious Coconut Oatmeal Cookies! 

I love coconut, I make my own Coconut Milk as a dairy free alternative for my cereal and oatmeal in the mornings. I love the natural sweetness it brings to my food.
So I thought Coconut cookies would be amazing to try out.
The recipe is simple, and you can always change it up and personalise it to make the cookies just how you like them. I changed a few ingredients in the original recipe to make it a little healthier.

So here’s the recipe!

Ingredients:

• 1/2 cup whole wheat flour
• 1/2 cup & 2 tablespoons instant quick oats
• 1/4 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
• 4 tablespoons coconut oil
• 2 tablespoons unsweetened applesauce
• 1 tablespoon molasses
• 2 teaspoons raw honey
• 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
• Sprinkle of salt

Method:

In a large bowl, mix together the whole wheat flour, oats, shredded coconut, coconut oil, applesauce, molasses, honey, vanilla extract and sea salt.
Mix it until well combined.

Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and place it in the fridge for 15 minutes.
Preheat the oven to 180°C. Cover a baking tray with baking paper.

Form small balls with your hands and place them on the baking tray.
Flatten the balls with your hand or a fork. Bake for 11-13 minutes or until golden.

I hope you enjoy these as much as I did!

6 thoughts on “Coconut Oatmeal Cookies

Leave a Reply

