Homemade Muesli

c010c1da188addf32294184c6b534a35

Muesli is so delicious, I usually have mine with some yoghurt and berries or oatmeal.
You always have to be careful when buying muesli, most of them have lots of added sugar. Make sure to check the ingredients, try to avoid those which contain sugar or fructose.

It’s difficult to find a good healthy muesli, and since it’s so easy to make I decided I’d make it myself! What I love about making my own muesli is that I can always change up the ingredients and use all of my favourite dried fruits and nuts!

In this recipe the only nuts and seeds I’ve used are Pumpkin Seeds and Almonds.
Almonds are so good for you, they’re full of healthy fats to keep you fuller for longer and they’re also really good for your skin. The Pumkin Seeds are also great for you, they’re full of Omega 3 and zinc.

Now for the sweeteners, this is a muesli not a granola so I don’t use any maple syrup or honey. I like to add some dried fruit, in this recipe I added goji berries, dried cranberries, dried raisins, pitted dates and banana chips.
Goji berries are high in vitamins and mostly vitamin A. They’re part of the ” Superfood Family “.

Ingredients:

• 300 g rolled oats
• 100 g barley flakes
• 15 g coconut oil
• 120 g almonds
• 40 g pumpkin seeds
• 30 g dried raisins
• 30 g dried cranberries
• 50 g pitted dates
• 50 g banana chips
• 50 g goji berries

Directions:

Preheat your oven to 150°C.

Start by melting the coconut oil.
Then in a bowl, mix together the rolled oats, barley flakes, almonds, pumpkin seeds and coconut oil. Make sure to mix this really well so all of the mixture is coated with coconut oil and there are no dry patches. It should look like this:

IMG_3264
Then place this onto a baking tray lined with baking paper and bake for 15-20 minutes.
Make sure to give it a good mix every 5 minutes to make sure it bakes evenly.

Once the muesli is baked, add in the dried fruits and let it cool down.
( I chopped the pitted dates because they were quite big )
This recipe makes a pretty big batch.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Homemade Muesli

Leave a Reply

